The top five: Hilarious fancy dress outfits. If sexism didn’t exist.

24 Oct

Ellie Hutchinson

So Halloween is upon us. Yay and eugh. Yay, because I’m dressing up like a gigantic pumpkin and eugh, because, well, Halloween is like the day the last 30 years forgot. Basically, it’s awful for women. Now, I try not to dwell too much on HOW SEXIST THE WORLD IS when I’m not at work, so that I can cope/live in the world/not tear my skin off. I recently tried to compile a weekly list of non-douchey types to counter the horrible misogyny that is pop culture. Alas, pop culture hates women. Surprise! However, I am yet to give up on the idea that most of us aren’t arseholes, so my new tactic is to pretend that we already live in an egalitarian utopia and that sexism is actually hilarious (you know, instead of rape jokes).  So, with that in mind, here are my top five hilarious fancy dress outfits.

1) By far the worst costume IN THE WORLD. But on the flip side it made me L-O-bleeding-L for about five minutes. Hilarious. I mean, who would wear this? Seriously. Someone hilariously douchey, that’s who.

 

 

 

2) This doesn’t even make sense. It’s called haunted ballroom dancing sexy devil or something.

 

 

 

 

   3) I watched Nightmare on Elm Street when I was about 10. It         scared the beejesus out of me and put me off horror films for ever. The fact that someone out there designed a sexy costume based on Freddy Kruger and that some people out there will wear this, is to me, hilarious.

 

 

4) Please, no. You’ve made a classic piece of 80s nostalgia sexy?!!! Shame on you. But also-ha! the world is so sexualised! Fun times.

 

 

 

5) Ahahahahahaha!!!!! Yeah, the organised sexual exploitation of women is something we should totally get behind right?  What’s hilarious about this bad boy is that it came up in a search for “sexy men’s costumes”. Yes, the ability to pimp women is definitely something I look for in a man. Hot.

 

 

2 Responses to “The top five: Hilarious fancy dress outfits. If sexism didn’t exist.”

  1. Wildlife Control Toronto October 24, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Hahahahahaha so funny!

  2. Webbo October 25, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Most important Halloween fact – it is my birthday.

Leave a Reply

